WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

RED

We set off down the 5 locks (Bingley 5 Rise) at 8 this morning - which meant no coffee in bed for me!
Frank assisted the two lock keepers while I took the boat through. Straight after that series there are another 3. All went seamlessly. 
However when we got to the double lock at Dowley Gap we were stuck for ages as two boats were coming up and two going down, which didn't bother us really as we are in no rush!
However the two boats coming up had a mishap :-(. The women were doing the locks while the men were on their boats -  chatting to each other. They didn't notice that on the front decks the water was washing over the sides and flooding the insides of their boats! Frank said one of the women had opened the lock ground paddles too quick allowing the water to gush. They need to be opened a bit at a time. The men weren't paying attention.
I hope they didn't have too much damage.
It is so easily done, you really have to be watching fore and aft what is going on.

Anyway, we got to Saltaire midmorning and moored up. We'll stay a couple of days - it's one of my favourite places. 

After lunch we left Bella in the boat while we went up to some of the quirky shops and then to Saltsmill. We love the art floor there.
There are lots of David Hockney pieces to see and lots of tempting arty things to buy. Unfortunately it was nearly closing time so we'll go back in the morning.

I did buy a little bedside lamp for the guest/ music room, in the vintage shop up the road and a few birthday cards to keep in the cupboard.

I took my turn to 'cook' for tea so made a yummy pasta salad.

Now we're watching Queen one of my all time fave bands - first a documentary then a full concert on Sky Arts. It makes me both really happy and quite sad when I see them. There will never be another Freddie Mercury.

The main shows red things that caught my eye in Saltsmill and the red bench of the boat with lock gates behind.
The extra is the yummy salad.

Thanks for all the comnents, stars and hearts over the last few days.

Goodnight :-) X

PS Yesterday's extra is there now! I forgot to add it! 
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.