It's been a while...

I have a number of friends whom I see for a couple of pints from time to time. Some in Kirkby Lonsdale and then others in Manchester, Chorley, Liverpool, and, occasionally, London.

I guess it was always most likely that my first post-lockdown beer would be in Kirkby, though, and so it was that Hugo and I met up at the Royal Barn this evening. 

Decor-wise, I'm going to assume that they're still waiting on some glass or perspex to replace the polythene sheets. That aside, I thought they'd done rather a good job. Certainly the seating arrangements are better.

We were served at our table, drinks brought on trays that we had to unload ourselves. I was OK with that. And they just ran a tab for us that we cleared when we were ready to leave. That seemed like a preferable system, too.

But all those technicalities to one side, the main thing was the unadulterated pleasure of sitting down across the table from a good friend and enjoying his company over a couple of pints. 

****
-11.5 kgs
Reading: 'Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race' by Reni Eddo-Lodge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.