Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Birthday party

Quite an exciting day. Not only did we have a party to go to (outside) but I think we may have finally purchased two fold-up e-bikes. We’ve been searching for them for ages, but they’re just not available because of lockdown. However, I contacted another cycle shop who deals with the desired bikes, and he rang today! He had ONE bike, but rang another supplier and found a second one. Two different colours (most important). YAY!

I started the day with a video call from a doctor who had studied my knee/leg/back problems. She had technical problems - I couldn’t see her and barely heard her, but we got there. Turns out, she doesn’t think it’s my back, it’s just the nerves in my legs. Why? I asked. Nobody knows. What to do? Try a new pain killer. OK...

I’ve re-booked in with Body Street, the torture session that I feel might - just might - do me some good. But it’s tough. It’s not a gym, so they’ve re-opened. I’m there on my own with my instructor, so no worries about social distancing.

The afternoon birthday bash was good fun. We were suitably dressed for a Scottish ‘summer’ afternoon, but actually, it was warm, windless, and most importantly - dry. A wonderful feast was eaten and very interesting chat was had (organising traffic lights in Wuhan? - Yes, that was one of the guest’s pre-lockdown job).

Archie wasn’t too well behaved, he got very excited, started barking, and so had to go back home and sit chewing his bone (just as good) until Kirsten came to take him out at 4pm. 

What a super afternoon day we had!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.