Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Too hot!

Very hot today! (25°C) JR went off early to the gym, and I did my bike before sitting outside listening to the radio on my earpods. Though it was too hot, really, even at 10am!

JR then went to the supermarket to get stocked up on essentials (NO chocolate). When she came back, she was ready to take Archie for a walk through the Hermitage - much the best place to go on a hot day. (This is round the Duck Pond, still with eight, now quite big, cygnets). I haven’t been up that way for quite some time - it just seems too far for me now. But I was persuaded, and drove down to park at the duck pond - it’s that long walk back up the road that really kills me, so I like to avoid it. (8,610 steps)

With plenty of sit downs, and at a slow pace indeed, we made it right through to the cafe at the other end. I haven’t been that far for ages. So a coffee and a scone were my rewards. It’s SO nice and cool through the forest, and Archie knows the places where he can go for a dip and get a drink. Unusually, they came home with me in the car.

Then JR walked across to Bruntsfield to return something she’d brought home (for me) to try yesterday while Archie and I collapsed on the sofa. The woman never stops! (18,740 steps for her today.)

Terrible news of record rainfall in parts of Western Europe, with at least  43 67 80 100 dead in Germany and dozens more than 1,300 people missing. Each day the figures are worse. Belgium, Luxembourg, France, Switzerland and The Netherlands are also affected. These sudden summer torrents are only going to become more common, which is really really scary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.