Footprints in Photos

By AnnaSpanner

Life

You mustn't presume that something is impossible, just because it hasn't happened for you yet.

I've think I may have learned this today.

As predicted I didn't sleep last night in anticipation for my meeting today. I had been invited to have a chat with one of my favourite photographers with a view to doing some work with them in the future. I have lots to learn and know that I am not ready to start shooting for money, especially not when this company have worked so hard to build up their own style. This meant I was going there accepting I would probably show myself up a little bit and come away with very little. I'd planned in my head a little speech in order to hopefully get some pointers on what I should be doing next in order to progress.

I can't tell you how pleased I was that they were actually putting a far greater proposal on the table. They're planning to take on more work, hopefully expand and they're looking for someone that they felt would shoot in a similar style, that they could mould to fit their signature work. They'd be prepared to train and mentor with a view, if all was well, to taking on some responsibility in the future. I was gobsmacked and still am to be honest. This seems completely invaluable to me and something that I've been trying to get from other photographers for some time. They've not done anything like this themselves before so we'd be learning as we go, and certainly no guarantees but anything I get from them will be a real asset to me.

Yippee! Like so many, I wanted to do photography as my job from the age of about 14. I remember doing my careers advisory sessions at school and them reminding me that it wasn't a proper job that would generate a salary or a decent amount of work so I should set me sights on a more realistic goal. While I see their point, and understand why its not in their interests to be rigid in my plans, I have always regretted watering down my goals. Instead they suggested doing photojournalism, which would have involved doing English lit & lang as A-levels. Something I had no intention of doing. I don't mind the writing part, but I just am not someone that enjoys reading huge novels. I read out of necessity, not love.
Anyway, cut a long story short, I got into Finance and was 1 year away from qualifying when I got made redundant, had another baby and decided not to go back. As the need to return to work began to resurface the thought of going back to that was beginning to depress me a little.
I hope I don't sound like I'm getting ahead of myself, after all at this stage it is just some experience and training, but it gives me a little taste of what it would be like to maybe sometime in the future do something that I am passionate about for a living.

Sorry for my long ramble on, I am sure 80% of people on here have found themselves in a similar situation and still enjoy having a career AND still have photo taking as a pasttime that they love. I am just grateful I may get to flirt with the idea of seeing if its something I can do.

They've lent me a Nikon camera to get use to so we can share and practice with different lenses, all on the same kit. I've been playing briefly this evening and here is my technical opinion on it....It makes a much more pleasant 'clunk' when the button is pressed. See, I told you English Language wasn't for me ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.