A present from #3 daughter

This useful present arrived in the post today. One of my daughter’s student teachers is Scottish and wears one so daughter knew I’d like it.

Another thing I liked was that I read till 11.30 last night and didn’t wake till Mr C brought me in a cup of tea at 7.30. The first full night’s sleep I’ve had in ages.

It’s been a wet miserable day and a few of my friends have the blues for various reasons that Covid doesn’t help with. I toddled over to the other side of the valley to deliver a cake and a bit of Ottolenghi magic to leave on the step of one. I puffed back up the hill. I’m losing so much fitness with this dratted foot. I’m not holding out much hope from the surgeon’s de-briefing tomorrow.

I finished reading The Glass Woman. The author teaches creative writing. The blurb said it was an Icelandic Jane Eyre. Is it creative to channel not only Jane Eyre, but also Rebecca and Brokeback Mountain, with a nod to Harry Potter?

Tomorrow it’s my turn to host Book Group 2 on Zoom (I have given up on Book Group 1 because the new members choose chick lit which I get bored with and they talk all the time). The book is Red Dust Road by Jackie Kay. It should give us enough to talk about - adoption, racism, nature v nurture

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.