Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Tipping

Well, I dreamt all night of riding my new tricycle round the Meadows - I planned the route, right around, using bike lames all the way, and I’d possibly do it twice.

But it was Not To Be...

I did not feel as confident as I’d anticipated. For one thing, when I went over a speed bump, to the side, and one back wheel wasn’t on it, so the whole bike slewed to the left. I had to brake hard (though I wasn’t going fast) to avoid bumping into a car. When I was on the little hillocks on the Links, it did the same thing, and tended to tip over, or at least I felt that it was tipping over. And in fact, I was rather alarmed to read that they can tip over. I got off it and walked it back to the road. Hmmm... not the inaugural journey I had hoped. I folded it up and went out for the day.

Archie went out with Elizabeth, so we headed into town. But we stopped at a new local shop/cafe to give it a try. Won’t go again.

We had a dander down town. Always lots to look at, but both our favourite cafes were mobbed, so no decent coffee all day. This is JR’s gym pal’s new shop. She has four of them in Edinburgh - they are an Edinburgh Institution. JR is wearing her mask. Too many people around.

Got home in time to see the exciting European Championship rugby match. 

If the tricycle (Extra 1) is in doubt, I think I’ll try this mode of transport (Extra 2).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.