WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

The Bears

The Bears are a lovely little family. They have just moved on to the boat after lying in a basket in the house since we moved 2 years ago.
Red Ted has been all over the world with us and on every caravan holiday we had in the UK before we bought the boat. He's had his photo taken on top of mountains, lying on beaches, in front of famous monuments and buildings. 
His wife, Yellow Ted hasn't really been anywhere - she was always at home taking care of baby Green Ted while daddy was off gallivanting! You'd think Red Ted and Yellow Ted would have had an orange baby wouldn't you.....hmmm. 8-/

Today we went into town to look for a bigger pan for on the boat for making soup in but we couldn't find one. I also went to the Fent Shop for some more fat quarters as they will probably have to close on Thursday. I also stocked up on toilet soap in Boyes. I'm choosy about soap, being a vegan as most bars of soap have tallow in them which is rendered animal fat. I like lovely handmade soaps but today I bought Pears soap as it was a good price and is vegan and also it doesn't go mushy.

It's been mainly dry today so Frank washed the outside of the boat and we turned it round so he could do both sides. He squirted water powerfully against the window that had leaked the other night but not a drop came in. He said it must have been the amount of rain that was driven against the frame by strong wind all day and all night.

The physio phoned me today to ask about my knee and I told him I could now weightbear on it but that it's still a bit swollen and aches like toothache. He's going to send me some exercises by post and said to carry on with ibuprofen and paracetamol.

I phoned our old neighbour in Morrinton today. 
Christel is German and in her mid eighties and although she's had her share of illnesses - bowel cancer last year - she seems to see them all off and still gets the bus into town once a week in her make up and high heeled boots. She also likes her pin up boys - Poldark is her fave just now! She lives alone with her cat and cockatiel but is happy living as she does - she's an independent lady.
Her family phone to check on her.

I made tea tonight - cauliflower cheese with mushrooms and tomatoes and fried onions + potatoes. Yummy!

I'm going watch the last episode of Vikings with Neil Oliver now.

Goodnight :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.