ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For

About a month ago, I noticed a bit of water on the passenger seat of my car after a particularly heavy bout of rain. I immediately suspected the joint where the folding roof meets the top of the windscreen, but couldn’t see anything obvious when I had a look. It was alright for the next week, and then it happened again after a night of rain. Still couldn’t see any obvious leak and even using the hosepipe didn’t produce any evidence of water getting in.
Booked it in with the dealer to see if they could find anything - I’d only had the car a couple of weeks and wasn’t impressed at the thought of it leaking through winter. At the same time, they said they could fit the boot cover I’ve previously mentioned in these blips (it’s only a little bit of it that’s missing, but you can’t just get that, you have to order the complete panel!)
Needless to say, we’ve not really had any heavy rain since I booked it in, so the seat has stayed dry, but the dealer said they would get the pressure washer on it as that would show up any small leaks.
Went back to pick it up this afternoon only to be told that they just couldn’t get it to leak, no matter how much they tried and all seals had been checked and were ok. There was torrential rain driving home and still no drips! I can only guess that possibly there was something trapped in the roof seal that allowed water in initially, but which was then cleared out when the roof was opened to check the seals.
Good news was that the boot cover (and the fitting thereof) was FOC because it should have been picked up on the PDI. Even better news was that there was no charge for the leak investigations as I’d only had the car for such a short time.
Excellent service, but I still hope I don’t have to go back until the next service is due in June 2021!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.