ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

OK Computer

Except, it’s very much NOT ok at this moment in time. There was a big update to Windows last week which messed up my Microsoft Office programmes. That glitch has sorted itself, but another - much more annoying - problem has now surfaced.
Being unable to remember what particular combination of letters and numbers I have allocated to sundry websites, I allow Google Chrome to save them and then use auto-fill next time I log in to one of those sites.
A couple of days ago, I was asked to enter a password on a site I knew was in the saved list. When I investigated further I saw a screen like the one in the picture - all saved passwords had disappeared!
Thankfully, due to a similar issue some years back, I do have them all saved elsewhere on an encrypted file, so it’s more inconvenient than disastrous.
But when I turned it on yesterday, most of the passwords were back in the saved list - mainly it was just the ones for the sites in the Bookmarks bar that were missing. So I resaved them and thought that would be it.
Turned on the PC this morning and........... nothing!!! All the passwords had disappeared again. Searched the usual forums and though there have been similar issues reported, no real solution has been put forward. Most of those who got their passwords back, it just happened randomly like mine yesterday.
If things do not improve, there is a definite likelihood of a PC shaped hole appearing in the study window in the not too distant future........
UPDATE
Turned the PC off in disgust after the above, but had to turn it back on this afternoon to check for an email. And found that the saved passwords had all reappeared, apart from the ones I’d re-entered yesterday!!
I sense this one is going to run and run....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.