Life In Wales

By KarenC

Bridgewater Canal

I got up early as the forecast looked promising, and I hoped to capture the sunrise over the canal.  I went through the garden gate and was straight on the canal path, there was no-one else around and the birds were just waking up.  I walked towards the longboats, and the ducks started swimming towards me in the hope of breakfast!  Luckily someone in one of the houses that backs onto the canal came out with a bag of food for them.

I was out for a good hour, the reflections in the still water were wonderful, and then I became a 'twitcher' - there were so many different birds in the trees.  I saw a Robin, Great Tit, Long tailed Tits and lots of Chaffinches.

I cooked bacon sandwiches for breakfast and Rach dropped the girls off at about 11am - she didn't stop,  she had lots of Christmas presents to wrap!  It's been so nice to have the girls, and after lunch we went to a local nature reserve for a rather moody walk with the boys.

I'd said to Rach that I’d drop the girls back at home about 4pm, but when it came time to go, the look on Violet's face was a picture.  I asked her if she was ok and she said 'I don't want to go home' . Rach said they've both had a really lovely day and Violet said that she 'needs' us to live closer,  apparently she's so happy around us and always says that she wants to come to ours, and it's not fair that she can't.  Bless her!

Tonight we've had a chilli baked potato and a bottle of rose.  We're feeling very relaxed, as are the dogs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.