Orgill

A breezy day, but a dry day.  Still fairly light now at 6pm, and a light evening with a full moon. 

I've been working in the museum all day again.  I met up with mam for a lunchtime walk.  While out for lunch, I spoke with cousin Leona, as she passed in her car.  A fine quiet evening at home, some more walkies, and feet up by the fire. 

Another day, and more family history discoveries.  I've gone down mam's line, through my granddad Mitchell (Arthur).  One family line has taken me back to my 6x great granny, Elizabeth Helen Pearson, known as Betty.  I haven't found out much about her, but she was born about 1775.  She married my 6x great granddad Sheward George Sutherland, date unknown, probably in the late 1790s.  Sheward was born about 1765, possibly at the Lee, which I'll look into another day.  They went on to have ten children, the eldest being my 5x great granddad Alexander Sutherland, born 27th July 1799, at the Lee, Lunnasting.  There's not much left of Betty's first home here, and unsure when it was abandoned, but happy to find fairly substantial remains, with such thick walls.  It was good to walk over the old threshold.  Taken at Orgill, Vidlin.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.