ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Mouldy Old Dough

My car has been sat on the drive, and not used, since the end of January. As we are now in March, I thought it might be a good idea to start using it again. A phone call from the guitar shop saying my bass was now ready (see blip of 6th September for details) seemed the perfect excuse to give it a decent run, especially on such a nice sunny day.
Thought I’d chance my luck and take my amp with me. As previously mentioned, I’d come to use it on Boxing Day night only to find it totally dead. The manufacturer had said I could send it directly to them, but I’d rather return it to the dealer as it might only need something really simple to fix it.
So I was not impressed to open the boot and find this mould growing on one side! I’ve blipped before about a possible leak in the convertible roof of this car and I think this might be an indirect result of the garage using a pressure washer to try and find the leak. Possibly water got into the boot during that process, and a combination of winter and not using the car allowed the mould to develop.
Anyway, the dealer did agree to take the amp off me to investigate the problem, returned my bass to me fully modified (more about this in the next few days) and I took advantage of the dry sunny weather to vacuum the boot and then leave it open to air for the afternoon. Let’s hope that will cure it. As the weather is a lot warmer now, and I am intending to use the car more this month, any residual traces of dampness should hopefully disappear quite quickly.
Best part of the day was taking advantage of having to travel to a different town by meeting up with my friend for a socially distanced walk in the sunshine. We enjoyed a good catch up chat and even managed to grab a Costa coffee along the way. A good day all round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.