Da Eid Football Pitch

A fairly breezy day, with gales picking up tonight.  Some sunny spells, mostly cloudy, and raining this evening. 

I've been working in the museum all day, and a fairly quiet day.  Some walkies with Sammy after tea, and then headed to pick up units from friend Aimee (Arthur).  Feet up by the fire now. 

Sad news came this morning, my cousin Andrew (Halcrow) passed away, only 45 years old.  He was ages with my brother Jonny, best friends, same class at school, and almost like brothers themselves.  I was always that bit younger, and more the annoying brat, but as I grew, so did our friendship.  I spent many weekends at auntie Joan's, as they lived less as they mile away.  He taught me how to use his black widow catapult, knifey pocket knife game, and also shooting with the air rifle.  I was honoured when he handed down the rifle to me.  He was also a scamp, playing pranks on me all the time, told me mince meat pies were made out of bluebottles (I still can't eat them), and one time having fish and chips, I spilled vinegar on my leg, he told me my leg would burn off, and panic soon set in.  We hadn't seen each other much of late, but we could always pick up where we last left.  He will be sadly missed, and my heart goes to aunt Joan and uncle John, his sister Barbara and nieces.  I had 21 first cousins, this sadly is number three gone.  This was a popular place for us to play as bairns, Jonny and Andrew probably started it here, this was our football pitch.  We used the gable end of the old house as the goals.  Our plans were sometimes interrupted by a tethered cow or ram, and the mess left behind.  Taken at Aith, Cunningsburgh.  

Extra photo is Jonny and Andrew, at granny's 90th birthday party, a few years ago.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.