Boarding. Not easy.

New amazing school. Rocking it.

Big tears tonight, wanting mummy cuddles badly, so I took her on a tour of her friends in her bedroom and they all said hello. It's been quite an intense exam day. Her routine was messed up with timetable changes. There's been an announcement of some very sudden staff departures, her two favourite teachers (yes, even after two weeks). But when pressed to find a positive, she really enjoyed her first clarinet lesson. And she was being allowed warm milk tonight. The deal is she can but has to ask before 8pm. It's a step forward. She has also been allowed alone time playing in her room, which is also a step forward. 

All is better than her phone calls to mama suggest, I'm quite certain of it. I asked if she'd like to talk to B after me, which she wanted to do and after a few minutes, B messaged to say "I've cheered her up!". Shortly after, Katie appeared back on WhatsApp sending night nights and sent this photo. While she looks a little unsettled, I think she had cheered up. Her house parent said tonight that she's doing really well, nothing out of the ordinary to worry about and is making a lovely group of friends. 
We will get there. Its a long half term, they don't go six weeks without an exeat usually and are working through the bank holiday because of covid. I woke up in the middle of the night last night, convinced I had left Katie somewhere. Just forgotten her. We will get there. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.