Treasure

I’m committed to a public appearance tomorrow and with the weather forecast I thought to find my old DPM Windproof (see tomorrow’s Blip for a picture) and discovered ‘Treasure’.
A steel fireproof document holder on the floor in the bedroom built in cupboard provided some of the paperwork I had been intermittently looking for over a number of years.
My granddaughter who is researching our family tree will be thrilled to receive the research my mother had done tracing the family back to the late 1600’s, this will be accompanied by a folder of birth, death and marriage certificates.
Some of the other ‘treasures’ I can cover in future Blips but I wanted to share this photograph today.
This is my grandfather, George Albert Fry and the photograph is not as old as it may appear, it is from a newspaper cutting in 1963. I remember my Grandfather well, always known to me as ‘Little Granddad’ he was an ex jockey and ex merchant seaman. He came ashore and went to work as a ‘Yard Boy’ at Gridley Miskins Timber Company. Somehow he slipped through the net and years later he was still on the books as a ‘Yard Boy’, I remember him delivering timber from this cart with Tom his horse, I remember sitting up alongside him as he did his rounds.
He was a superb carpenter and to this day I associate the smell of fresh cut timber with ‘Little Granddad’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.