Singolo Orchid

I saw this Singolo Orchid in a florist's window the other day and thought it was really unusual. I love Orchid's and they're about the only flowering plant that survives with me - it must be due to the fact that I always forget to water them!

Anyway, I went into the shop to have a look at them out of intrigue, and to enquire the price. They were all white, so no choice of colour and cost ?15, so I told the guy in French that I would think about it, he misunderstood and thought I said I'd take it, proceeded to the counter with it and asked if I wanted it wrapping as a gift. I laughed to myself and decided that I couldn't be bothered trying to explain that I didn't want it, so bought it lol! It is very pretty though, and although short and stubby the flower is approx. 14cms wide.

Apparently the Singolo is very unique and is the first one-flowered Orchid. The card that came with it says "It's extraordinary appearance is preceded by a long-term selection and development process, and the result is a firm, compact plant with one beautiful large white flower. This flower towers over the lower leaf and looks wilfully into the world"

The flower is supposed to last about 12-14 weeks, so I just hope that once this dies that another will grow, but we'll have to wait and see!

Anyway, blip done, I'd better go and take Louis out and get ready for work. Have a good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.