Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Breakfast treat

Sunshine this morning! So Archie and I could sit out in the front garden while JR was at the gym. She was at something called ‘Gym Blast’ which sounds awful hard. Or, actually - just ‘awful’. However, her little group of gym bunnies loved it!

Archie was going on a Big Walk with JR and Chrissy later - too far for me, so I set off to practise my ‘proper walking’. I had in mind a cafe I’ve seen on many occasions, always with people sitting outside. Not too far away, I thought. But it turned out to be 5,000 steps! I was SO puggled! Archie and the girls went round Arthur’s Seat. JR did over 21,000 steps!

However, I had a really delicious ‘French bread with bananas and maple syrup’. The chap next to me had it, and it looked bloomin’ good. (Extra) And so it was, along with a mango and banana smoothie. Yum yum. It was a wee Turkish cafe, lots of pastries (which I resisted), dog friendly, people friendly, lots of locals - I’ll definitely be back.

But I was very tired on the way back, and once I get too tired, I can’t keep up with my ‘proper’ walking - I revert to my usual slouching/staggering along. In fact, I gave in and got a bus home. I then dozed on the sofa with my playlist on the earpods. 

I woke up in time for the walkers to return, and we had a wee glass of bubbly while I watched the Heineken Cup rugby final with one eye (sound off). 

Photo by my assistant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.