A Day of Contrasts

It is exactly 3 years to the day since one of this snail’s predecessors slunk across the patio leaving sucker prints . This was the day which changed the lives of us in the Dower House for ever and had me contemplating what footprints we humans leave on our journey through life .

Today, this 3rd generation snail was revelling in yet another morning of haar which obliterated all of Edinburgh’s landmarks and was rather resistant to burning off. It’s hard to listen to the TV weather forecasters telling us how lucky we are to have high pressure with heat and blue skies when you know that most of the east coast of Scotland and even. England are in cold damp cloud.

However I was on my way to have a civilised coffee with my two Merry Widows in the Black Ivy on the other side of the Meadows and hoping that by the time I came out, the sky would be blue. It was indeed but there was still no Arthur’s Seat to see and the temperature was just enough to allow me to remove my scarf.
It has improved since then and is, as I write, a heady 16°. However, the persistent Easterly breeze prevents heatstroke .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.