LadyPride

By LadyPride

The Tooth Hurts

4am: Stood in the nursery scratching head as Audrey screams her little heart out. Change her nappy. Still screaming. Cuddle her. Still screaming. Leave the room, perplexed.

5am: Back in bed (baby monitor turned to low volume). Audrey still screaming. Despite low volume, can hear her through the wall.

6am: Back in nursery. More hair stroking and placating. Audrey still screaming. My poor neighbours.

6.45am: Still crying (sounds tired now though).

7am: Get her up and feed her. Stops screaming to have her bottle.

7.05am: Starts screaming again.

7.30am: Tears rolling down her little face, beside herself now. Hold her out in front of me and say, "Audrey, just tell me what is wrong?" At that moment she opens her mouth to wail some more and I spot it. An unmistakable tiny white square pushing it's way through her pink gums like a little white skyscraper...

7.45am: Calpol, teething granules and Bonjela deployed.

So there we have it. Teething. And for all those Mums that told me it was no biggie and that their baby didn't really seem affected. Thanks for that. But let's be honest, Audrey was never going to teeth quietly....

(Today's blip pic was Audrey and I in Head Over Heels soft play centre whilst I tried to distract her/me from the doom that is a baby cutting teeth. It worked, for a bit anyway).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.