Gladiolus

I was going to go all Dame Edna Everage and use “Gladdy” as my title but I see, on one website, that the word is now urban slang and not the sort of message I wish to send out. So the Latin name will have to do.

It was one of those lovely warm to hot days, practically no breeze, when the sun shone all day and it was a joy to be outdoors. The clarity of the air in the morning made everything sparkle.

In the afternoon a light haze emerged but still warm and sunny. We headed to the north of the city on the hunt for more bathroom options.

Big mistake. With George IV bridge closed due to a fire and Holyrood Park closed at the weekends everything was funnelled over the bridges. Where there were roadworks and numerous tourists.

We made it eventually and saw some different items. I took a detour back which was longer but worked well.

That said, the city fathers need to get much much much better with their traffic management. I don’t mind the 20 mph speed limit in most of the city. I just wish I could manage that speed. Families with small children walking on the pavement were making quicker progress.

Now, what was that other word for gladiolus?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.