The first of Jan’s sewing days

I met Jan at a quilting workshop at Doddington Hall, shortly after we moved here in 2015. She invited me to join a group the she ran in a village close to where we live. That was the start of my journey into quilting, trips to quilt shows and visits to material suppliers in Lancashire, Yorkshire and Leicestershire. We certainly got about and made lots of friends. 

We are now re-establishing the group and a new routine. This blip give a glimpse of some of the activities the group members are involved in, very varied. It was a rude awakening to think that Christmas is already on someone’s agenda.

I was in ‘woman on a mission’ mode whilst I joined up the sections for the 2 quilt backs. Very productive. I was there for 4 hours and was certainly ready for a sleep when I got home. 

Like many other people reflecting on significant memories today,  I certainly remember what I was doing 20 years ago on 9/11. I was running a clinic in hospital out patients, single handed. The patient appointments were every 30 minutes, so the ladies coming in provided snippets of confused disjointed information. 

I had a hair appointment after work and when I got there the girls weren’t aware of what was happening. They switched on the radio to hear the news. We were all shocked and I ended up providing support for these young ladies as best I could. Ever the nurse, a carer whatever the situation. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.