Beewriter

By Beewriter

Fire Walk

My day went from one extreme to another!

I started off with a polar swim. The water was thirteen degrees. It may have only been two degrees colder than last week, but it felt a bit more as I got in. Once I was nicely numbed I was okay. I did two laps of the 450m course and it was enough as my hands were suffering. It’s weird as my little fingers go uncontrollable and float around when they get too cold which makes cupping your hand difficult to swim. I will strap them up next week.

Tonight I was facing temperatures over 600 degrees! Victoria and I went to do a fire walk. It was to raise money for Willow Wood Hospice. We mistakenly drove to the hospice and then realised our mistake and raced off to the garden centre. We made it just in time. The walk was flaming away and the temperature was about 900 degrees. They broke up the coals and spread them then doused the flames so that there were burning embers. Then it was go, go, go.

We didn’t hesitate, we just walked. It was difficult to take part and get photos. I took a few to prove I did it though. My feet were black when I got home and they are tingling a bit but no sign of any burns lol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.