Abi Road

This week has not been the week we'd planned. We were supposed to be in Salford and to have Christmas Day at the house there. On Monday, though, the miniMinx tested positive for Covid and so we - Abi and I - made a dash back to Kirkby Lonsdale, as neither of us had actually been in contact with the poorly girl.

On Tuesday, the Minx tested positive, too, and it became clear that for the rest of us, Christmas would be happening in Cumbria. Lateral flow tests having come up negative, then, Abi and I went across to Morrisons on Tuesday and did the bulk of the Christmas food shop.

We have remained negative ever since*, so we were able to do a further shop on Wednesday, and today we went for a final few bits and pieces. At Abi's wise suggestion, we did all the recycling, so that we'd have a clean slate tomorrow, and, that task done, we crossed the road to Booths. "Abi road!" I called out and, after a token eye-roll, she indulged me!

I should say as a post script that this week has worked out rather well. Neither the Minx nor miniMinx has been too ill, and I have managed to get a lot of sorting out done at home. And whilst I was in a state of mild panic on Tuesday morning, we are now all set for tomorrow.

*for covid. Our temperament has generally been sunny and optimistic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.