Trafalgar Square

A friend suggested a cycle ride from Waterloo round some parts of London to see the Christmas lights. I was not sure if I wanted to go but was glad I joined the small group. Cycling was a good way to get around and much better than walking as it was fairly crowded. The friend who was leading used to work in the Westminster area and knows all the cycle lanes and various back streets. Trafalgar Square always looks good, and although apparently the tree is not great this year it didn’t notice when lit up. I did not realise they had a crib there too which you can see in the foreground. Behind me as I took the photo were many stalls selling trinkets and various foods and drink, in front of the National Gallery.

The extra is ‘Annabels’ in Berkeley Square. This is a famous night club that was named after the wife of Mark Birley who founded it in 1963. She is now Lady Annabel Goldsmith as she later married  James Goldsmith, the mother of Zac Goldsmith who was previously the MP for Richmond. The original nightclub was in a different building but on the same square.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.