A reasonably accurate summary

If instagram likes form any kind of metric for what my year has been like then I suppose the above images do offer somewhat of an accurate summary. Running, plenty of time outdoors and a couple of cheeky nephews.

Of course, it wouldn’t be right to talk about the highlights of the year without first acknowledging the loss and the pain. It’s been a year, not just of cancelled plans and uncertainty, but of illness and death. The year started with the death of my lovely friend Sue, followed by my wonderful nan. Alongside this there has been near constant illness and sadness around. Politically, it’s hard to find hope and we do seem to be continually observing rounds of sleaze and scandal.

But, it’s also good to focus on the good things that have happened over the year, of which there are many (and most of which I will probably forget). There were celebrations with family after long seasons apart and all of the joy that those reunions brought.

There were lovely sunny camping trips in beautiful places with wonderful people. There was hiking and running and cycling and eating all year round.

There was family, friends and fun aplenty.

A massive highlight of this year for me has been finding an amazing group of people through our ‘runlates’ running group. This bunch of people have bought joy and friendship, support through the long marathon training runs, some epic trail runs and a good bit of time spent chatting in the pub. I end this year feeling really grateful to have found such a tribe.

Work has been interesting and challenging but mostly filled with fun and brilliant people. I remain endlessly grateful that I get to do what I do. I’ve been mentored by a hero of mine and feel glad to be so regularly challenged and inspired.

And obviously, obviously my biggest highlight of the year was running the London Marathon after many years of entering. It will go down as one of the best days of my life and I will remember it with the happiest of feelings. All the better that I was cheered on by my family in London and the many generous people who gave to Compassion in memory of Sue.

I end this year with a very grateful heart and looking forward to another year of adventure.

I suppose a good way to start this will be running into 2022 with a 10k that starts at midnight. Now just to try and stay awake!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.