Wild mushrooms

We got a wild mushrooms and wild rice combination for Christmas. Renata and family went to the German Christmas market in Vancouver just before xmas and bought it. They tasted the soup that was made by the group selling the combination and said it was delicious. This morning I got everything made for the soup except for adding 2 cups (!) of table cream and the wild rice (which is simmering on the stove as I type). The mushroom/onion/celery/garlic base tastes delicious and I'm not sure I'll add the full 2 cups of cream. 
Kalyn got her four wisdom teeth removed this morning, so she'll be eating soft foods for a few days. We talked briefly to her and she's doing okay. Krista and Dan were there too, and we talked to them and Renata. Krista sent a couple of photos of Kalyn with the ice pack on her face.  :-)
What a weird day of weather!  It rained heavily all night and quite a bit of snow melted. There was very little left down Xwaaqw'um but still a few inches in the field at our place because we're up a bit higher. It was sleeting when I went for a walk. I didn't take the camera with me. I got soaked but had a really good walk anyway. Then it cleared up and the sun came out - briefly. Then it started to snow again. When we were talking with family, it was like a blizzard! I've included an extra of the garden earlier to show how much the snow had gone down  and a 2nd extra of the "blizzard". 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.