The Municipality

Still no progress on the fibre replacement at the office, so I did what I could and headed home again.

Later in the day I bit the bullet and took a trip to the Municipal office to try and resolve the issue of lost vehicle papers.

At the car park I was asked which department I needed and was given directions. Good start I thought, until he then added that it would take 8 weeks to get the document, but if I brought the receipt.back to him I would have it later today.

I eventually found the designated office and joined the queue outside. It moved pretty quickly and taking yet another seat inside the office I was asked for my drivers license and the required copy (nothing in the paperwork indicated a copy) so I asked could he not make a copy? I don't have a photocopier was the reply and I was told to return with the required item. A security guard directed me to a wee shack just outside the premises where a guy charged me R5 for a copy while serving chips and greasy chicken to his other patrons.

Back I went, application accepted for processing. I was told to come back in 3 weeks to “see” if the replacement document was ready, but it might take up to 8, as their systems are a bit slow.

You can just imagine the responses running through my head at that comment but I kept them to myself.

Did the guy at the gate get his bribe? Not a chance, I will suck it up and be patient like the rest of us suckers dealing with the legacy of the wonderful ANC.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.