Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Kaiser!

Hazel popped over for a coffee this morning. She was very excited, because she had just had a delivery from one of those online food delivery places, where you get all the ingredients and you make the meal. I’ve always been tempted by them… and so I’ve signed us up to a less expensive one  (with less exotic ingredients) - just to give it a go. 

We then walked round to the bank to sort out a wee problem. I queued for ages, but because I’d lost my card, and indeed the card reader, I was told that it would take 25 minutes to fill out the form and cost £20 to move money to another bank. The teller advised me to order a new card, then do it all by myself online. Result!

JR and Archie went on with their walk, as I knew it could be a long wait in the bank. Next door to the bank was the wee French patisserie, so I my feet took me in.

Do you have any flans left?’
‘We only have raspberry flans.’
‘Correct answer!


Gosh, those slices of flan are quite large… (Extra)

On the way home over the Links, I saw a handsome schnauzer bounding around. I was watching him, wondering who he was, as he looked quite like Pip. But no, it was Kaiser, who used to live here. He was with his dad, picking up the kids who still go to this school. Kaiser is a wee smasher. When he was a puppy he was attacked by a pit bull type dog in the street, and had his back leg snapped. The court case is next month. And the poor wee sausage nearly died recently because he caught parvovirus. Vet bill: £1500. Don’t know what the bill for his broken leg was, but they have insurance, sensibly. Actually, I must try and see them again at that time to wish them luck and to find out the outcome.

Talking of court cases and outcomes, I’m pleased to see the breaking news that the Queen, at last, has stripped her (favourite?) son of all his military titles and patronages. And not before time. Poor ol’ Queenie…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.