Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Tempting freebie

Today we walked round to Morningside for lunch with a friend. It was quite a long way, and I intended getting the bus back. But no, I missed the bus and they’re not very frequent these days, so I walked home with the others as well. I am completely puggled. (6,490 steps)

We had a delicious lunch with Salwa, with lots of tasty Middle Eastern dishes. We took Archie with us, as it was a good walk for him, and he was SO good inside the flat. He didn’t bark going up the stairs, unusually, then he stood around for a while before just lying down and going to sleep while we yakked on for hours and sorted out the world. Good boy!

Funnily enough (as we’d just had yet another debate about the pros and cons of owning one)  Salwa had a new air fryer and enthused about it. She has even made scones in it. JR showed a keen (polite) interest, but I think she is warming to the possibility…

I am delighted with the return of the Aussie version of ‘Love It or List It ‘, which is much better than the UK version - and not just because it doesn’t have the rather annoying Kirsty and Phil. The houses are just so different to ours. I would LOVE to own a little renovated ‘worker’s cottage’ in Sydney. The best house swap we ever did (and we did dozens of ‘em, pre-Archie) was the whole summer holidays in a cute little cottage near Bondi. It was, of course, their winter, but it was just like our summer. 

This was a tempting freebie. I don’t think I could fall off this bike. But it wasn’t an e-bike, so we left it for a smaller person, or a child. It wasn’t there on the way back.

Today marks the 150th anniversary of the death of Greyfriar’s Bobby.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.