Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Six month check up

I got everything ticked off on my calendar today. Most days there is nothing listed, just JR’s gym classes, but today I had lots - do meter readings, birthday greetings to cousin, cancel Times sub, Archie’s vet check up. I also had my hair cut (JR does a decent enough job) did a big washing and emptied the rubbish. And, of course, solved WORDL, though it took me five goes.

But first I got up early to watch Emma Raducanu’s match. It went to three sets, but she lost. Having a blister on the palm of your racket holding hand can’t be much fun. Andy also lost. I really think he should give up and go and open a tennis school somewhere. Or become a coach.

We all walked to the vet in the afternoon, though it was uphill for much of the way, I made it. The upshot of the 6 month check up was that he’s a wee bit overweight. He’s 11.5kg, and should ideally be 10kg. Diet coming up, Arch…

I was too tired to walk home, so I got the bus while the others walked home via a run around the graveyard.

I rang to cancel the Times sub, which was on a deal anyway (just £8 a month) I don’t feel we use it enough, often just on a Sunday. But when I rang to cancel, they offered me another 6 month deal, this time for £2.17 a month! I was persuaded, of course - I’m not silly.

Tonight’s tea was ‘Crispy lemon chicken with chilli rice’. The ‘special equipment’ I needed was a piece of ‘tin foil’ in which to cook the broccoli in a wee foil parcel in the oven. Though after I’d de-seeded and cut up a chilli, ready to mix into the rice, I just tried one wee bit… JINGS! It was HOT!! Crazy hot. In the bin it all went. I don’t see the point of very hot food. The meal was declared ‘very tasty’ by JR. I’m off chef duties till next week now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.