Arrival

Dan and I did a lot of driving during the time when he was learning. We'd go out most days for at least half an hour, usually more, and that went on for ages as he had to wait quite a while for the backlog cleared once learners were actually allowed back into cars with testers. By the time he passed, he'd got a lot of miles in his wheels and I knew he could drive.

I've been less confident with Abi. She was a good little driver, for sure, but I just didn't feel we'd got the hours in at the point where she passed her test. Still, she's been fine: popping down to her mum's; visiting friends; taking the trip to Kendal to go to Domino's.

Still, I was a little nervous when she announced this morning that she'd be driving down to Salford. By the time I'd picked up her text and replied, she was already on her way, so I had to satisfy myself by looking at Apple's 'Find My' app every ten minutes or so to see where she was. Maybe a bit more frequently than ten minutes, tbh.

Anyway, here she is, just after half past one, casually driving onto the square, emerging from the car looking composed and carefree.

(Extra: The Minx and I popped down to Se7en Brothers after work for a drink with Simon. Here's a drained Middlewood Lock, just outside the bar. I can never believe quite how shallow canals are.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.