Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Film recommendation

Biking this morning. I really MUST try to keep that up… I have a feeling that it must be good for me - better than walking, which I have to make an effort to keep up every day, but the odd sofa day is also allowed. (8,807 steps)

We had quite a drama this morning. Our up-coming holiday in France, with Hazel, had been thrown into disarray with our flight to Paris in the morning, being changed to an evening flight. We lose just about a whole day of being in France! Long story, but we tried to get a refund on the website, gave up as it was almost impossible, the hoops you had to jump through. But Hazel did not give up, and rang the number, and hung on till she got an answer. She then re-booked with another airline, so that we arrive in the afternoon - just in time for a glass of wine.

After that stress, I took Archie out for a BIG walk. I surprised myself, actually, because I did not sit down once. Mainly because it was too bloomin’ COLD to hang around! I had on my special lined bunnet with ear flaps. Funnily enough, the two ice cream shops I passed were doing great business.

Round by the Grassmarket and up the Vennel steps. Yes, there were two folk up at the top of the steps, trying to take a photo of the view of the castle with blue skies and fluffy white clouds (minus the old biddy plodding up at snail’s pace) but I couldn’t hurry.

I apologised when I got to the top. They came over to pat Archie and I realised they were (Northern) Irish. They were gorgeous young folk, here for a few days, but very cold. She had on a lacey dress, and a short coat, he had a tee shirt and jacket, but no scarf. I suggested they go down to Armstrong’s and buy a couple of nice thick Aran jumpers for £4 (each). Then I suggested they go and sit in a warm cinema. ‘Have you seen Belfast?’ No ‘Well there are three cinemas nearby all showing it today’ (I wasn’t quite sure of how true that was). They were from Belfast, and I assured them it was a good film, worth seeing. Especially on a cold day.

We then came across the Meadows. Archie was off the lead, and chased a couple of sticks, before finding something big  to run off with and take ages to munch. I didn’t bother trying to get near him, as he just runs off, laughing. Naughty boy.

I made a Creamy Mushroom and Chicken Fricassée tonight. Although something curdled a wee bit in the pan, it was tasty. I think we’re going to have a wee break from these meals for a while…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.