Jan’s marmalade

I was going to have a relaxing Sunday as the weather outside was foul. So no exercise today (unless you count all the times I was up and down the stairs having forgotten something.)

I made the marmalade in the picture from fellow-blipper Jan Harling’s recipe. I’d decided I wasn’t making my mum’s traditional recipe this year. It was really delicious but a lot of work. Thank you Jan for a really easy recipe that is tart which we like.

I seemed to get bogged down with preparing other food to photograph for my cook book, and being in contact with daughters re the complications of sorting flights for our Italian holiday in August. The connecting flight we wanted from Amsterdam had only 8 seats left so #2 daughter and family will take that and do a big shop then head to the house. We’ll have to wait a lot longer in Amsterdam for the next flight as we have to arrive with #3 and children to share a car hire as Luke can’t get there till the following week - his step mum’s 60th celebrations fell into the middle of the holidays he’d booked and he couldn’t change the dates. He’ll come for the second week only. What a palaver.

I don’t want to go to Book group 1 tomorrow (I don’t like the way some of the current members want to talk about cruises, Covid and stuff rather than the book - sadly most of the original members have moved away or died) so spent ages writing my thoughts about The Tenant of Wildfell Hall to email to the group.

It feels like the day has got away from me and I’ve not even read my book which was the indulgence I’d promised myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.