WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

A Bad News Day

A very sad, scary day. I really didn’t expect the invasion would actually happen. Now people have died. How terrifying it must be for the people of Ukraine.

I had difficulty writing my poem tonight, I found it hard to concentrate.

We had been out all day, Frank bought a second hand piano keyboard from a man in Ormskirk so after picking it up we went to visit Sue in Southport and went out for lunch. Her son Phil lives with her and their situation is dire.
Living in a cold house that is falling apart around them yet still filled to the attic with hoarded stuff from her deceased husband and also I have to say from Sue herself. She has mobility problems and is waiting for a hip replacement so is restricted in what she can do. I’ve tried to help in the past but any advice given is not taken on board. I came home feeling quite down. 

Bella has the right idea and now I am going to do the same and go to bed.
Sorry for the somewhat miserable Blip. Life isn’t always a bowl of cherries eh?

Goodnight Blippers :-) X

55/365
Madman

I can’t think of the right words,
For the poem that’s in my head
I’m trying to think what I want to say
But inside I just feel dread

I watched the news today 
Saw that Russia is occupying
A land where people live in peace
I saw that bombs were flying

I tell myself it won’t last long
But nobody really knows
The workings of a dictators mind
When confronted by his foes

He’ll do all he can to win his game
To accumulate power and assets
He has no conscience or empathy
Such a man will have no regrets

I’ll go to by bed now and say a prayer
That it ends before it’s really begun
That the madman will be over-ruled
That goodness, fairness will have won.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.