WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Blue and Yellow

We were going to go into Skipton this afternoon but I woke up with a bad head again and thought I would try a Zomig for migraines but it didn’t help for ages so I lay on the couch for a while and then just as it was getting better Sue phoned and I was on the phone for ages chatting with her during which time Frank nodded off on the other couch. By the time we were both free it was about 2pm and it was raining so we didn’t bother.
I felt a lot better by then though so did a couple of quick paintings, just messing about really with blues and yellows for the theme today.
Then it made me think of a poem and this came into my head.

62/365 
A Blue and Yellow Flag

If you had asked me a month ago
The colours of the Ukrainian flag
I wouldn’t have known
If you had asked me a month ago
The national flower of Ukraine
I wouldn’t have known that either

If I am honest

If you had asked me a month ago
Exactly where Ukraine lies 
I wouldn’t have known
I would have said Eastern Europe
I feel sad that it has taken a war
To make me aware
To look at the map
Now wherever I look
I see Blue and Yellow and Sunflowers 
And people fleeing
My heart breaks.


Amelia did really well in the skating competition in Sheffield along with her 2 friends who are also in the same figure skating club. No photos though.

Now we’re going to have some light entertainment and try Motherland
on Netflix.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.