Wrong on so Many Levels

They were so wrong, the phone weather apps for this morning . They didn’t read well last night and indeed were so depressing that Sue and I did wonder if today’s dook and paddle were worthwhile. It’s not being in the water in the rain that’s the problem, it’s actually very invigorating, it’s the getting dressed in the rain afterwards that sucks. It’s hard enough struggling into clothes with a damp body without the clothes being damp too.

Anyway the rain had conveniently stopped by 8 am and there was only the odd rogue raindrop to remind us of what could have been.

After I had done my paddling in the shallows and Sue had zoned out in her space beyond the waves, we went back to her house to have coffee and an hour of cheery banter with her and the Prof. While she clutched a hot water bottle she told me I looked like a German tourist in my socks and leather sandals and so I did - she knew better than to mention my shorts. The Prof was a model of rectitude as befits his station even though he must have wondered who the kenspeckle character was who had blown in with his wife.

It’s raining now as I contemplate crossing the Meadows to get my hair cut…….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.