WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Ready for Potting on!

The tomato and pepper plants have come on leaps and bounds while I was away. I will need to brave the horrible weather to pot them on.

We were awake about 5am as the girls were awake very early due to being sent to bed at 7pm last night. Amelia’s coach had told her to go to bed really early as she had been tired at practice yesterday.  Amelia had to get ready for the skating competition and we had to drive to Blackpool which was quite straightforward and the traffic was OK. Even so we made it just in the nick of time for the practice.
Amelia did really well beating her last score. She was really pleased. The other 2 girls from Amelia’s club did really well too. 
Sabrina dropped us off and then drove back up to Airdrie so we have the girls until Friday when their Daddy will come for them.

I had a meeting to go to tonight being hosted by a lady in Gargrave.
It was an information night about hosting and/or supporting refugees. A really nice bunch of people (8 women tonight). I went along with 2 others from Hellifield one being a neighbour and the other a woman I know who already works with refugees from Syria and Afghanistan. There is a lot involved and some of the attendees were really on the ball with such issues like benefits, employment, schooling etc. There are a number of such groups throughout Yorkshire and I daresay throughout the UK.

Frank got the girls to bed at 8pm without any stalling shenanigans.
He’s fair but firm with them and they seem to respond to that.

I just watched the 10pm news - naughty Boris! He should resign!

Today’s poem
102/365 
Missing my Greenhouse

After being away for a few days
I returned to find the delicate seedlings
on the windowsill, had grown into bushy plants,
already defined by the shape of their leaves.
It’s time for potting on but heavy rain is forecast
for the next week and it’s too cold outside
to spend time freezing my finger tips
and getting drenched to the skin.
I suppose April is the month of showers and
I wouldn’t mind if they were gentle with sun
but this relentless deluge is holding me up.
I may have to brave the weather one day
in wellies and raincoat and gloves.
If only my greenhouse hadn’t blown away.

Yesterday’s poem.
101/365 
Home

Home to my own four walls
My own things, my cosy bed
Home where everything’s at hand
My comfy pillow to lay my head
If only everyone had this comfort
Somewhere to call their own
Safe from living on the streets
Or escaping from a war zone
Why must life be so unequal?
With some existing on handouts 
While others have untold wealth
Their survival never in doubt
I would like to see a world
Where each and every soul 
-Not just the privileged ones-
Have a chance to reach their goal.

Goodnight :-) X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.