Interesting Day.

One of those days I was dreading. I left the Manchester house (and Border) to Spiderman over the weekend to do some work. Spiderman can be reliable when his family isn't dragging him down, and he knows what he's doing as well, but the real question is what would I come back to....

And to be honest he'd done pretty much everything asked of him so it wasn't that bad after all. He gutted the kitchen down to the studs which is a bit more than I wanted as he said "the old drywall just started crumbling", yeah, it needed to come down then. Far easier just to put new drywall up than screw around with old stuff. And the bathroom was also gutted.

So after assessing the damage and figuring that we're at the destroyed stage, it's now a case of putting it all back together. The key thing tomorrow is getting the kitchen drywalled and getting the subfloor ready for new flooring. The idea being that the owner of this property who is flying in this weekend can help me put the kitchen back together and feel a bit more included in this project. If we can get drywall up tomorrow I can get this mudded straight away. Considering that there will be a bunch of cabinets and backsplashes going up over the drywall, my mudding probably won't have to be perfect.

Managed to sand off the new drywall at Rancho today as well. Looks nice, despite hiding two layers where one is 1/3rd" raised over the other. Also got the cow pen porch painted as well.

I'm probably not going to finish Rancho now until my wife joins me next week for the cleaning as there is less than a days work for me now so we might as well finish it together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.