A Different Point of View

A trouble free run down to Chester this morning - I think we beat the Bank Holiday weekend traffic. But I’d forgotten we had cleared the fridge and cupboards last time we were down so a shopping trip was in order after lunch.
We went to M&S at Cheshire Oaks because Mrs C wanted some socks and I was toying with buying a new top. Spoiler alert - I didn’t!
Stocked up in the food hall and then returned to the car which we’d parked on the top deck. Looking out across the car park, I was visibly reminded of how lucky we are to live in the Lake District. From our house - or just about anywhere in Kendal - we have views of open spaces, an ancient castle and distant fells.
Here, I can see an oil refinery a massive outlet mall and a wind farm. The only greenery is trees planted on a roundabout. You can see Helsby Hill in the background but, from past experience, I can say that though it is quite nice up there, the busy M56 below does tend to take the edge off.
I think we have the best of both worlds really. We live in the pretty part of the country but have easy access to the bigger shops and leisure facilities that come with city living. Tonight’s entertainment being a case in point. We’re going to watch a performance of the touring production of “The Play That Goes Wrong” at Theatre Clwyd in Mold. A West End Show in a decent size theatre but only twenty minutes drive from our flat. I think I can put up with a somewhat less than idyllic view for a few days whilst we take advantage of the theatres, cinemas and concert venues around here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.