WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

A Rainy Day on the Cut…

…again!
We came back to Skipton this morning to moor up near to where my dance class is so I can walk there.
We’ve had the stove lit again today as it’s been a cold and wet day.
Across the canal is this beautiful Laburnum tree, the dangling bright yellow blossoms are dancing about in the wind. I can see loads of bees on it.
Tomorrow we’ll be going home as my friend Lila is coming to stay for the weekend. We haven’t seen her since pre-pandemic. Lila and I used to play Uke and sing together, she has a good strong voice and I love singing harmonies so we did quite well together - until we moved down here.

144/365
Laburnum

Golden Rain I’ve heard it called, 
the lovely Laburnum tree,
I watch as the dangling blossoms
Are visited by countless bees.

You never see a bird though
hopping around this tree top,
instinct must tell them, stay away,
eat these seeds and you’ll drop.

Yet I can forgive it being poisonous,
for the yellow flowers so bright,
even against this steel grey sky
and in the rain, bring such delight.

Keep children and pets away from it
though tempting it may be
to want to touch the golden flowers
and bark, of the lovely Laburnum tree.

An early Blip today as I have to go to ballet at 7.
I’ll miss The Sewing Bee but I can watch on catch up.

Bye for today :-) X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.