Lunch with Frederick Forsyth!

To day we met some friends and had lunch at this pub, the Jolly Cricketers in Seer Green, Buckinghamshire . The menu has amusing titles for the courses….
Openers (starters) Main Play and Sticky Wicket (desserts ). 
As it was Sunday we all had roasts and they were very good.

We had a table near the bar and had just ordered when an elderly man sat down at the table next to me. The waitresses clearly knew him well and quickly brought him a glass of wine and a glass of water. Our friend got out a notebook and quickly scribbled ‘ Freddie Forsyth’ !  Apparently he lives nearby and often comes to the pub for his lunch, she has seen him there before.  He has written many well known books…Day of the Jackal, Dogs of War, the Odessa File etc. I think I have read most of them but most a long time ago. So when I got home I had a look on our bookshelves and we have 10 of them. Maybe I should re read some!

A nice warm day so watering at the allotment was needed. The courgettes look nearly ready to pick and the runner beans are growing well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.