A silent space at Ham House

I went on a quick visit to Ham House to see whether the lavender was in full bloom. This is the area called the ‘Cherry Garden’ which now has lots of lavender plants. There are several different species and one type is flowering ahead of the others. I got there just after the gardens opened and was the only person in this part! I had not heard of the silent spaces movement but on visiting the website I see there are so many places all over the world. It looks at though several National Trust properties have agreed to join in and put up notices like this. I would be interested to go at one of the designated times when it is busy and see if people really are silent! Even though it was sunny the I was surprised there were not more bees … maybe later. 
I will visit again later in July when the lavender should be in full bloom.
The veg garden there was looking good….most of the vegetables looking better than in our allotment plot!
We had one big shower later before lunch but I still need to go and water the allotment and check on all the plants there .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.