Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

It's going to get hot again, so I had to take advantage of the last day of cooler weather.  It was a beautiful day with lots of sunshine but only about 80F (~27C) by the time I got home at 12:30.  I managed to get on the road just after 9 AM and rode 34 miles.  I went west into the foothills where the flora and fauna are different, as seen in my collage.  I found all the flower IDs with Google Lens.  It works much better than the Seek app!

Top Row:              American Goldfinch
                               Queen Anne's Lace (Wild Carrots)
                               This Red-tailed Hawk had his breakfast interrupted by a pesky Red-winged Blackbird.  He was forced to fly away with his prize (a snake) dangling behind him.  

Middle:                 Blanket Flower (Gaillardia Aristata)
                               Osprey with two chicks.  There was definitely a third and maybe a fourth in the nest.  It was really far away, so hard to tell for sure.
                               Upright Prairie Coneflower

Bottom:                Spotted Sandpiper
                               Broad-leaved Sweet Pea
                               I was really excited to spot this Bullock's Oriole.  It's been at least 10 years since I've seen one.

 I am grateful for my E-bike that enables me to do long rides.  I'm pedaling the whole time, but I can adjust the amount of "assist" I need so it doesn't take as much effort. :-)

Thank you to everyone who visited and left stars and hearts on my blips!


                               

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.