View from the kayak

After going to the allotment to do a bit of watering and pick more courgettes  I went kayaking on the river Thames. It was very peaceful and cool on the river this morning, much quieter than at the weekends.…I only saw two motorised boats in a hour. There were several groups of children learning to canoe and one school group out rowing . 
This is a very large house at the end of a road called Broom Water. All the houses in that road have a back garden going down to what they call the ‘creek’ which is to the right of this house and I see has a new notice this year saying ‘Private Marina’!  The houses were built between 1895 and 1905.
When I first kayaked on the river..in the 1990s… this house had a lovely old ( but very dilapidated) boathouse on the left. I think it was probably listed and would have needed a huge injection of cash to restore. Over the years it got worse and I think just fell down and has not been replaced!

Next week I am going out with some friends who have never kayaked before and are rather apprehensive.

 It as hot today but very very humid. Not that pleasant as no breeze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.