Prime Time

I was given this gift card for my last birthday, but I’ve never been a fan of that company and couldn’t find anything I wanted at a price I was prepared to pay. Mrs C needed to order some photographic mounts and said she’d “buy” the gift card off me.
Problem was that she could have got the same thing cheaper on eBay, basically because the retailer was offering free p&p on that site. But…she could have free p&p if she signed up to Prime. Now this is something we’ve resisted in the past because we just don’t order enough stuff to warrant the monthly cost. And apart from a few shows and films, there hasn’t really been anything on the tv app that warranted paying the subscription.
Of course, they know there are people like us out there so dangle the carrot of a 30 day free trial, cancellable at any time. Well, Mrs C wanted the mounts and I discovered that our tv has Prime pre-installed, so she signed up.
I’ve got to admit it was all very quick after that. She pointed her phone at a QR code on the tv, typed in her account password and we were straight into the menu of what was available to watch. Only two shows jumped out as a “might be worth watching” - The Grand Tour and Reacher. I like the current BBC Top Gear line up, but always wondered what Clarkson, Hammond and May had gone on to do after leaving the BBC. On the basis of the episode I’ve just watched, pretty much the same as they were doing before. I will probably binge watch a couple of seasons over the next 30 days, but I don’t think I’ll be tempted to start paying for it after that.
Reacher - on the other hand - looks a lot more promising. I always thought that Tom Cruise was a ridiculous choice of actor to portray the character in the films. At least the tv series has picked someone who fits Lee Child’s description of our hero. Which may have something to do Mr Child being one of the executive producers!
We will definitely binge watch season 1 over the next month. And then, when season 2 is available, we can always sign up for another free trial!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.