Grey Heron

Confusing day today. The young one and the older female came over to the waters edge this morning. The dog walkers were all sitting at the picnic area with the dogs running around. Anyway I fed them both along with the 5 crows who came hopping behind me. I then made my way to the clearing. I thought the male was there but it took of as I approached circled and landed on a log near the middle of the loch. It stood and I stood then it slowly walked  through the water closer to the edge. I started feeding it and it came a lot closer. It wasn't the usual male but may have been the one from couple of days ago. 
After lunch there was nothing around until I got to the clearing. A young heron flew over but it was not my usual one as this one definitely appeared to be a male. It had a few bits of sardine until there was an enormous screech and my usual male landed. The young male took off so I  started feeding the regular male. Next thing a further heron landed, this one was my original heron. She made the usual greeting (altough the male wasn't having it and tried to chase her). They found enough space and I was able to feed them both. So it appears that I had 3 of my usual gang and two that I haven't seen before. I have no idea about the crows as their numbers go up and down. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.