Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Haircut

A wander round the Links this morning, while JR and Chrissy took the car to Meadowbank for their morning torture session workout. 

I was sitting on the bench in the park listening to a podcast (about the Bain Family Murders in NZ) when a woman walked along the path and smiled at me. I recognised her, as she’s big Marley’s mum, one of Archie’s absolute favourites. But Marley wasn’t there… she laughed and pointed him out - he’d gone away round behind us trying to avoid his biggest fan!

But Archie spotted him hurrying by, and ran after him, squealing with delight. 

When I came back the fit folk were home and having a coffee. We chatted about our newish thoughts for a ‘Big Trip’ and Chrissy has been there, having been a travel agent for a while, and was very enthusiastic. She also has a brother living there. Exciting!

I took the plunge and gave Archie a long overdue haircut. I have to work up to it, because it takes ages, but he’s such a good boy - just stands there, sighing occasionally. 

Then JR took him a big walk. I kindly let her use one of my birthday ice cream vouchers, but there was a big queue at Mary’s Milk Bar, so the shop across the way got her custom.

The city bin men have gone on a two week strike! Great. Just what we need while the Festival is in full swing and full of visitors!!!#*+¥* The place is in a bad enough state even when they’re NOT on strike!

Photo by JR

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.