Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie the jazz fan…

Off to see my physiotherapist this morning. Actually, he didn’t really want to see me - we’ve gone as far as we can, it appears, and I agree, it’s not actually making much difference. I will keep up the daily exercises, though, but I’ve just to keep moving and wait patiently to be referred to the next level.

When I came home, Hazel was having a coffee with JR outside in the sun, so we had a catch up on her news - she’s been to a couple of excellent Fringe shows.

JR was returning something to John Lewis, and so was walking in to town, so Archie and I went with her for part of the way. In fact, we had an ice cream at Vittoria, and not at the expensive one nearby with the long queues. 

We had a walk down the Mile to see what was going on, but it was very crowded, and there weren’t any daft people wandering about in silly costumes, just people giving out pamphlets. Though there was a young lass from NZ who started singing.

But Archie and I had had enough, though he gets lots of pats smiles and admiring glances. We got a random bus along the road a bit, but decided to get off when it got too crowded and then a second pram came on. We just had The Meadows to walk through anyway.

Which worked out well, because who should we see but the Tenement Jazz Band, sitting on the bench, playing. They’re a local band who actually play regularly in one of our local pubs, and we’ve always been meaning to go one evening… anyway, I promised I would very soon, as they happily let Archie join in with their brand of New Orleans Jazz. 

I was very puggled when I got home (8,833 steps!) and so I had a snooze and watched a bit of 100 cricket. I’ve also spent a while reading the comments about the BCS finale in the Guardian - most interesting, as people give their theories and things they’ve spotted about the series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.