Granton Harbour

I've been looking for an excuse to blip this side of Edinburgh for ages,and today I had to collect the girls' ceramics that they made on Sunday at Ocean Terminal. I bumped into another person taking 'timeout from work' and I was going to ask him if he was blipping...but worried he would say no and thought I was chatting him up!

I'll need to get a wee badge thinggy.

Granton is lovely (on a sunny day!) - a real contradiction of new trendy shore front flats and traditional pubs and brick terraces. Parts of it look like they haven't changed for 150 years.

When looking into my Canadian cousins' family tree (the Fluckers) - I discovered their Great, Great Grandmother Barbara Flucker was a fisherwoman and photographs of her are said to hang in the Portrait Gallery in Edinburgh.

The Newhaven fisherwomen's distinctive skirts were popularised by Queen Victoria and her court. Other pictures are here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.